WESA Structure

April 11, 2016

Executive Board

The WESA Executive Board manages the day-to-day affairs of WESA and represents the organization towards third parties. It consists of five members: two are appointed by the Members (WESA Teams), two are appointed by ESL,  and the Chairman of the Executive Board is chosen by all four. Regular office term of each member on the Executive Board is three years.

Currently sitting on the WESA Executive Board are:

  • Ralf Reichert, Managing Director, ESL
  • Sebastian Weishaar, Vice President, ESL
  • Hicham Chahine, Team Owner, Ninjas in Pyjamas
  • Wouter Sleijffers, CEO, Fnatic

Executive Board

Executive Chairman and Commissioner

Ken Hershman serves as the Executive Chairman and Commissioner of WESA. Hershman also serves as Chief Executive Officer of the WESA Agency, the media arm of the organization.

Hershman spent nearly 30 years in the television sports world, where he helped spearhead some of the industry’s most innovative television programming for both Home Box Office (HBO) and Showtime. During his tenure as president of HBO Sports, Hershman piloted a variety of renowned boxing franchises, as well as award-winning original programming including “Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel,” “Hard Knocks” and “24/7.” Hershman is a graduate of the Fordham University School of Law and received a BA degree from George Washington University.

The Player Council

WESA is the first institution to feature an operative Player Council. The player-elected Council will advocate on behalf of the pro gamers in relation to league policies, rulesets, player transfers and more, empowering players when it comes to decision-making in regards to tournaments operated under WESA regulations. By bringing  the Council  to the discussion table, he will be given an important insight into the balances of league decision making, as well as the formation and adjustment of rules which directly affect players’ careers.

Inaugural WESA Player Council members include:

  • Jérôme Sudries (G2 Esports)
  • Chris J De Jong (Mousesports)
  • Sergey Ishchuk (Natus Vincere)
  • Adam Friberg (NiP)
  • Wiktor Wojtas (Virtus.Pro)
  • Nathan Schmitt (EnVyUS)
  • Viktor Jendeby (Fnatic)